King Koil Bed – Alternatives to Medication for Lower Back Pain

Image

I have always been lucky to not live with chronic pain.  Even into my forties, I was healthy, flexible, athletic, and pain free.  This all changed over the course of a few years, following a minor car accident.  I received a herniated a disc in my back during that accident, and while it’s not severe enough to operate on, it’s still a little bothersome.

Alternatives to Medication for Lower Back PainI’m not keen on using pain relievers, even over the counter, for long periods of time.  I was going to a chiropractor twice a week, and seeing limited results.  My brother is a big fan of inversion tables, but I’m not willing to use my body as a guinea pig, and am afraid that that type of stretching might exacerbate my condition.  Finally, I spoke with my chiropractor about what else I could do at home, besides minor stretching.  He gave me some valuable tips, and I will pass them on to you.

First, he told me that although I am fit, I am carrying a few extra pounds around my midsection, and those needed to come off.  Since my injury is in my lumbar region, those few pounds can pull my spine forward, and make the situation worse.

Secondly, he told me to sleep on my back, and buy a new bed.  Not just any bed, however, he recommended a plush King Koil bed.  They have some type of beefed up back support, and are made for lumbar problems.  Thirdly, he told me to keep from crossing my legs when I sit down.  Odd, I know, but he’s the doctor, right?  Finally, for exercise, he told me to keep it low impact.  No running on the road, no jumping jacks.  Cycling is fine, swimming is ideal.

I have integrated these recommendations into my daily life, and am continuing my chiropractic visits.  I will say that my pain has not gone away completely, but has abated.  I am much more comfortable, and able to move easier.  So don’t rely on pain killers, change other things in your life to help your pain.

Leave a comment